Thread: Scouring merino fleece

Scouring merino fleece

I have about 50kg of raw merino fleece from my 5 poddys. I have tried washing it but even after 4 or 5 goes with Power Scour, the fleece still feels greasy. I managed to successfully scour my crossbred fleece ( merino x border leicester), dye it and card it but have not had success with the merino. I used very hot water and was careful not to agitate the wool at all as it felts so easily. I put in a little extra Power Scour as well to help the process along. I am an expert at scouring alpaca fleece but am failing dismally with the merino. I would appreciate any tips or advice any of you have to offer.

Blog Entries

Re: Scouring merino fleece

I would get some dawn dish washing detergent and be generous with it. Dawn is designed to get grease and oil out but it is gentle on the fibers they use it to get the oil of birds and animals when they get oil spill oil on them.

Wow, That's a lot of fleece.
    I haven't washed merino but I've washed really fine, blanketed cormo and bluefaced leicester.
    It takes really hot water (160deg) and lots of detergent (Dawn dish detergent 1cup to 2lbs of fleece.)
    The water needs to be VERY hot. Here in the US domestic hot water is usually 120degrees or less.
    I add boiling water to bring the temperature up. Be really careful with the hot water. Water hot enough to scour the wool will burn your skin.
    I like to put the wool in a mesh laundry bag and soak it in an old top loading washing machine that has a plain "spin" cycle that doesn't spray water, doesn't change directions and doesn't stop and restart. The kind of machine that fills up with lots of water.