Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ruffle scarf - looking for suggestions & advices

Ruffle scarf - looking for suggestions & advices

I am rather new to wet felting in general so I really lack significant experience. But I know that can't be forced and takes time to practice.

My current Holy Grail of wet felting is a ruffled scarf.

I have seen similar scarfs like this one - http://www.flickr.com/photos/cheenara/4 ... 7/sizes/l/" target="_blank and that was all that was needed. I fell desperately in love.

I know it would be easier to buy myself one - but being a crafts person for long period of time - I know the full satisfaction will come only if I learn to make something similar myself. Then I will be pleased both with the scarf and new skills learned. (One of those little non-material pleasures that feed the soul. )

I tried to make a scarf using nuno felting and I wasn't able to get nice rich ruffles. Of course, I had this little trick - I have used all kinds of support while drying my scarf so now while dry it seems like it has some kind of ruffles but I know these ruffles would go away as soon as I would wet my scarf.

I don't know, maybe all ruffled scarfs are that way and I live in an illusion they are not but still I can't help myself believing there is a way to making reliable and permanent ruffles.

At this point I am pretty much sure the layers should preferably be thinner. And I am pretty much sure that orientation of the fibers is the key.

So at this point I am desperate to hear all suggestions and advices you might have to offer. And I will be most grateful.

So, my main question for you is - What do you do to get nice rich reliable ruffles?

...my blog @ ignis.blog.hr...
    ...my Facebook webpage @ facebook.com - Ignis art...
    ...my Deviantart gallery @ ignisburns.deviantart.com...

Re: Ruffle scarf - looking for suggestions & advices